Pembroke Library, Anglesea Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4


1.  Title of the Society

The Title of the Society shall be the Ballsbridge, Donnybrook & Sandymount Historical Society (‘the Society’).


2.  Aims of the Society                

a)     To promote an interest in local history in the Ballsbridge, Donnybrook and Sandymount areas.


b)     To arrange lectures, exhibitions, seminars and tours on subjects of local history and to publish material in pursuit of that history.


c)      To build up a local history archive.


3.  Membership                                

Membership will be open to all who share in its aims. 


4.  Committee                                    

a)     A Committee of the Society, consisting of the Officers of the Society and not more than five ordinary members elected by the Society, shall conduct the business of the Society. 


b)     The Officers of the Society will comprise of a Chairperson, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer. 


5.  Business and Procedures of the Committee

a)     Meetings of the Committee shall be held at least four times a year.


b)     A quorum for a meeting shall be four. 


c)      The Committee may arrange such events, lectures or tours as it deems appropriate.


d)     The Committee may enter into association or correspondence with any body or person for the purpose of furthering the aims of the Society.


6.  Subscriptions

a)     The annual subscription for both individual and family membership shall be determined by the Committee.


b)     Annual subscriptions shall fall due on 1 January each year.


c)      Members who fail to pay their current subscriptions by 1 May of that year shall be understood to have resigned from the Society.




7.  Annual General Meeting

a)     The Society shall hold an Annual General Meeting, normally in December.


b)     A report of the year’s business shall be given to the members by the Chairperson, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer.


c)      An election shall be held to elect the Officers and Committee of the Society.


d)     Any member going forward for election should be proposed and seconded by two members. 


e)      In the event of a Committee member or Officer of the Society wishing to retire from the Committee during the year, a member of the Society may be co-opted by the Committee to fill the vacancy.


f)      Any member wishing to propose a resolution at the Annual General Meeting shall give notice in writing to the Honorary Secretary not later than four weeks before the date of the Annual General Meeting.


8.  Extraordinary General Meeting

a)     The Committee may, at any time, call an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Society giving fourteen days notice to the members specifying the subject for discussion which shall constitute the sole business of the meeting.


b)     The Society may be dissolved by two-thirds of the members at an Extraordinary General Meeting.


9.  Publications

a)     The Society shall publish an Annual Record of the year’s activities.


b)     The Committee shall have power to authorize the issue of other publications.


10. Income

a)     All income of the Society shall be vested in the Society and lodged to the Society’s bank account.


b)     Two signatures by the Officers of the Society are required to authorise cheques.


c)      Upon dissolution of the Society, the Committee shall donate any credit balance in the Society’s bank account to an appropriate organisation which will be deemed to further the aims of the Society.


11. Alteration and Availability of Rules

a)     No alteration, addition or amendment may be made to these rules except and with the approval of two-thirds of the members present and voting at a general meeting. 


b)     The quorum for a general meeting shall be twenty.


c)      A copy of these rules shall be furnished to all members and shall be available on the Society’s website.


d)     These rules were adopted at an Annual General Meeting of the Society on Thursday, 11 December 2008.           


               Gail Wolfe

               Honorary Secretary

© 2000 - 2017 powered by
Doteasy Web Hosting